Simply Oatmeal Pancakes

Standard

I have really gotten into oatmeal. It is my new favorite food and staple in the kitchen. It is my new everyday breakfast (along with some fruit). I’ve wondered what it would be like to add an egg–how it would affect the taste and texture. Then I thought that I  could try to make oatmeal pancakes. I wanted a simple recipe. Still healthy like the plain old oatmeal, but in pancake form. So I just kept it simple: oatmeal, with the only additional ingredient being an egg.

These are delicious. Amazing. My mom tried them and loved them, too. I cooked a series of mini pancakes, only about 1-2 tablespoons of batter each, so that it was easier to work with and I just love miniature things! Also, in the picture below, the back pancake has not been hyper-exposed. I tried adding a bit a cottage cheese to one, to see what it would taste like. While the flavor was okay, I preferred the plain ones, and kept cheese out of the recipe description.

This recipe makes 12-14 mini pancakes (about 1-2 inches), and would probably make 3-5 regular/larger-sized pancakes.

Oatmeal Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup 2 tbsp water
  • 1 egg

Instructions:

  • Cook oatmeal (oats + water) for about 1 minute (I did a minute 10 seconds).
  • Immediately after, add egg and mix until completely combined.
  • Grease a frying pan and place on medium heat.
  • Once pan is hot, add a little of the mix for each pancake.
  • These take very little time to cook, and the first one will take no more than about 30 seconds for the first side. The pancakes should be lightly browned. After the first batch, these oatmeal pancakes literally need to be flipped after about 15 seconds or so.
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

