Fabulous First Frittata Attempt

Standard

Today I was planning on making more mini quiche/omelets, but with different ingredients. However, I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to bag that and try to make a frittata instead. I have seen all sorts of frittatas online and have been dying to try one. I really love the ones that use broccoli and/or spinach, but unfortunately, I had neither. One wonderful ingredient I did have, however, was potatoes (note: I really want to try to make a Spanish tortilla sometime). Potatoes, mushrooms, and turkey bacon. I usually only use chicken or turkey as my meats, because they are healthier and, in my opinion, better–tastier. I don’t even really like meats like bacon, but I will occasionally make an exception, like here. Notice that I used turkey bacon, so even though it is not great, it is better than regular bacon.

This was not a perfect, traditional frittata. In other words, I do not own a cast iron skillet (I should…) so I left out the bake-in-the-oven step. Nonetheless, this recipe turned out fabulous! It was so delicious and I can’t wait to make more and experiment with different ingredients. The texture was perfect: not mushy or slimy or anything like that. Everything was cooked to perfection!

For a vegetarian frittata, omit the bacon and use more of the other ingredients, or add your own.

Lastly, because I only used 3 eggs, this frittata was a little thinner than most…almost like a pizza frittata (Hmmm…)! But you can always add more eggs and ingredients, although I can’t say how the cooking time/method would change. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp milk, approx (I don’t even measure)
  • 2 bacon strips
  • Cheese
  • Potatoes (I used a quarter of a large potato)
  • Portabella Mushrooms, cut up (1-3 handfuls)

Instructions

  • Preheat a medium frying pan with a little olive oil over medium high heat.
  • Slice potatoes (about 1/8-1/4 inch) and cook in pan until golden-brown (careful when flipping–oil is very hot).
  • While the potatoes are cooking, whisk eggs, milk, and a handful of cheese together well until smooth (I used a fork to mix) and cut/tear bacon into small pieces.
  • Once potatoes are done, remove them from the pan onto a paper towel (or two) to absorb any excess oil.
  • Then pour most (not all) of the remaining oil in the pan into the sink and cook mushrooms over a lowered temperature (they will still cook very fast; do NOT leave them). Once the mushrooms are done, remove them to a plate or paper towel.
  • Move pan to a new, cool burner and wait a minute for the pan to cool some.
  • Spread all of the bacon bits, mushrooms, and potatoes in an even, single layer on the bottom of the pan, and then pour the egg mixture on top. Sprinkle a little more cheese around on top.
  • Turn the heat to medium low and cook for about 10 minutes. After a while, when the egg begins to set on the edges, use a spatula to separate the frittata from the edge of the pan and tilt it so that the uncooked egg goes to the bottom.
  • The frittata will be finished when the egg is almost entirely set, and there is just a tiny bit of uncooked egg. But even that should not really move around if you tilt the pan. At this point, the frittata should easily come off/out of the pan. Gently and carefully slide your spatula underneath and slide the frittata off of the pan and onto a plate.
  • I like to cut mine into quarters (using the spatula). Serve immediately.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Baked Potato Fries « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

