Omelets at the Beach

Standard

There is nothing better than a delicious breakfast that is also healthy AND filling. I often hear people say eat an egg to fill you up. I believe this is true, but for me, one egg on its own is not always enough. Adding some fillings and making that egg into an omelette is a different story. I have had one other omelette post, and this one is very different and uses a wider variety of foods. I tried to make a more sophisticated omelette, if you will. Some of the ingredients I used are not some of my favorite foods, but in an omelette, mixed with lots of other things, everything is absolutely delicious.

This was a perfect recipe for the beach, because it was quick, easy, and everyone LOVED it. I made this amazing meal almost every morning I was at the beach, in part because it was truly so filling and kept me going all day, so I didn’t have to walk back up to the house for a big lunch. I was fine with bringing down a little snack to munch on in the late afternoon (like almonds, fruit, one of my snack/trail mixes). Unfortunately, I have no beachor omelette photos right now, because I seem to have…ahem…misplaced my camera amongst my many bags and beach things. So, I will try to make another omelette as soon as I have more eggs, because, of course, I am also out of eggs. No camera. No eggs. Sigh.

Anyway…the only tricky step with this recipe is the timing. The fillings all are different and take different times to cook. Spinach, for instance, takes almost no time at all to cook, so you add it to the pan last. Onions and mushrooms take about the same time to cook and the longest, so I add them first.

I do not give a whole lot of specific amounts for the fillings, because they really depend on the personal preference of the cook. I use equal amounts of everything, approximately. I also love a lot of fillings with this particular omelette, so I use a lot of ingredients. One thing to keep in mind: spinach makes less than you think once it is cooked. Also, you can use any type of onion, I just really love the taste of red onions specifically.

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion
  • 2-3 mini portabella mushrooms
  • 1/2-1 cup spinach
  • 2-3 eggs
  • Splash of milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 avocado

Instructions:

  • Dice the mushrooms and cut up the onion. The onion should come apart in thin rings, which you can then cut up.
  • Lightly grease a frying pan with olive oil and add the mushrooms and onions to the pan over medium low-medium heat.
  • Cook onions and mushrooms until they begin to sizzle are near being done, then add the spinach and cook everything until fully cooked (can also add tomatoes with spinach to cook slightly if desired).
  • Pour fillings into a bowl and cover to keep warm.
  • Next, whisk eggs together with a splash of milk and a pinch of salt and cook omelette style (for a healthier option, I sometimes use just one egg yolk and two or three egg whites).
  • Add fillings from bowl as well as the avocado and tomatoes (if you did not add them to the cooked veggies already) to the egg and serve immediately.

NOTE: You will not use all of the tomato, avocado, or onion unless you make more omelets/eggs. Just stick them in a ziplock bag and save for later.

One response »

  1. Pingback: First Fabulous Frittata Attempt « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

