French Toast, sweet or savory

Standard

I don’t like sweets. So how can I enjoy french toast? Don’t make it sweet! When I was younger, my family made french toast ALL the time. For me and my younger brother, who don’t like sweets, however, we just had our french toast savory, with no sweetness added. It was just…eggy bread, I guess. But it is delicious nonetheless. The two huge breakfast treats in my household were pancakes and french toast. It has been quite some time since the last time I had this wonderful breakfast food, so I decided to make some this morning. French toast is great with fruit and is an awesome meal to keep you going through the day.

This recipe makes two pieces of french toast. In other words, one egg is equivalent to about two pieces of bread. I had 1 piece of french toast, and then was craving just a little more, so I made a half piece and scrambled the remaining egg. I had my french toast with some fresh blackberries. SO. Good. French toast is one of those breakfast foods that is so delicious but quick and easy as well. My entire breakfast took a total of about 10 minutes to make, if that, and that is including preparation and cooking time for both pieces of french toast. I am 100% satisfied.

When you grease your pan, you do NOT need a ton of butter. I probably only use about half a tablespoon, if that. Only use more if you love the flavor, but I honestly think french toast is already so delicious! Knowing when to flip the french toast is not tricky at all. Wait a couple minutes and then carefully lift up the edge to peek at the underside. It should be browning and make your mouth water. Check out the pictures below to see how mine turned it…it was PERFECT!

 

These beautiful pictures are due, in part, to Udis bread, I think. It soaked up the egg remarkably and cooks so well, browning perfectly. This, on top of its amazing taste, makes Udis a fabulous choice of bread. It is simply my favorite!

Please note, while I used milk in my egg mixture, I am sure that as long as you mix/whisk your egg(s) very well, this can be done without the milk or with water instead for some delicious dairy free french toast. Also, just use a dairy free substitute for the butter. Voila! Dairy free french toast.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • A splash of milk (optional)
  • 1-2 pieces gluten free bread (I use Udis)
  • Powdered Sugar
  • Syrup

Instructions:

  • Whisk an egg with a tiny splash of milk (no more than 1 tbsp) in a bowl.
  • Put one piece of bread into the egg mixture, gently pressing on the sides/edges to completely cover and soak. Turn the piece of bread over and do the same thing on the other side.
  • Leave the bread in the egg mixture to soak while you melt a little butter on a frying pan over high heat. 
  • Carefully transfer the bread onto the greased and heated frying pan to cook.
  • After about 3 minutes, turn the bread over and cook the other side for an additional 1-2 minutes. (After your first piece of french toast, feel free to re-butter the pan and cook some more. With any additional french toast, it won’t take more than 1 minute on either side.) 
  • Remove from pan and serve immediately.
  • For sweet french toast, cover both sides with some powdered sugar, top with syrup, and dig in. Otherwise, enjoy your savory french toast!
One response »

  1. Pingback: Delicious, Nutritious Breakfast « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

