Portabella Cheese Omelette

Standard

Breakfast recipes are so delicious and fun to mes around with. You can do so much with say, a simple omelette. Sometimes, if I’m in a lazy mood, I will just make a cheese omelette, but usually that just turns into cheesy scrambled eggs (so delicious!). This morning, I made one of my most delicious omelets yet: cheese, portabella mushrooms, red peppers, and chicken (omit for vegetarian). You can add and omit any toppings you choose–there are so many things to complete a wonderful omelette. Some other fillings I love are sausage and bacon (not too much), turkey, other peppers (yellow, green), and a variety of herbs.

Omelets take no time at all to make and are a food that almost everyone will enjoy! They are also great for brunch and some fruit or toast. I wasn’t terribly hungry this morning, so I just stuck to the omelette (plus I used a lot of fillings). Omelets always put me in a positive, happy mood. Don’t ask me why, they just do. They are a fun food to make, especially with other people. Two things I love to have when I’m cooking: people and music. I think with omelets, you are required to move around more, tending to the different parts, and that just makes me upbeat.

I am sorry I don’t have more pictures…I didn’t really think about getting pictures of my omelette before I folded it over, so the above photo is the best I have. It also appears that all my peppers have snuck to the back!

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup mushrooms, diced
  • 3 tbsp chicken, cut up, precooked
  • 1 tbsp red pepper, diced
  • 1/3 cup cheese

Instructions:

  • Grease a frying pan with about a tbsp of olive oil and turn heat up to medium high.
  • Toss mushrooms and peppers into the pan (and chicken if you need/want to heat it up). Sprinkle salt over food.
  • Wait a minute while the pan heats up and until you hear the food sizzling, and mix the egg and milk in a small bowl while you wait, along with 1-2 tbsp cheese.
  • Once the contents of the pan begin to sizzle, use a spatula to mix contents/flip them around. They will take about 2-3 minutes to cook.
  • Once finished, slide mushroom, pepper, and chicken onto a plate and turn heat down to medium low.
  • Pour egg mixture into the pan and swirl to make sure it is evenly distributed. Let sit until the edges and bottom begins to cook (you should see the egg whites turn white, as opposed to their clear-like color).
  • Begin to swirl egg mixture around every 20-30 seconds or so until all of the egg is cooked (swirl more often as the omelette gets closer to being done) and remove from heat.
  • Put all of the fillings on one half of the omelette and about 2/3 of the cheese. Carefully use a spatula to fold the omelette over, and then sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.
  • Carefully transfer omelette to a plate (can use the one the fillings were on) and enjoy!

What do you make in your omelets? Feel free to comment below!

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Potato Omelette with Feta Cheese and Spinach « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

  2. Pingback: French Toast, sweet or savory « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Crustless Mini Quiche « deliciousgf

  4. Pingback: 7 Great Foods for a Healthier You | Health/Wellness

  5. Pingback: Omelets at the Beach « deliciousgf

  6. Pingback: First Fabulous Frittata Attempt « deliciousgf

  7. Pingback: Baked Potato Fries « deliciousgf

  8. Pingback: Bacon and Cheese Omelette | Love 2 Type

Leave a Reply

