Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Standard

I have thought about making cottage cheese pancakes in the past, and I finally have. Recently, I have started eating cottage cheese more, as a quick snack or as a lunch or dinner side. Cottage cheese pancakes are healthier than regular pancakes and are made with cheese…how can they NOT be delicious? How can I not love them? Well I wanted to try them once and for all.

This recipe makes 4-5 four-inch pancakes, and the entire batch is only a total of 145 calories, so you can eat them ALL without feeling guilty or gross. What?! Yes, you heard correct. EAT THEM ALL. These cottage cheese pancakes are also so so SO delicious! They have a great texture and taste. I was skeptical at first about the cottage cheese making lumpy pancakes, but that was not the case at all. I know people who hate cottage cheese because of its appearance and texture, but none of those things are apparent at all. The cottage cheese pancakes look exactly like normal ones…you would never know the difference unless you looked at them very closely. Anyway, great texture and taste. They are cheesy, obviously, and they taste sort of like something I have had before, but I could not figure out what it was. It’s driving me crazy! Oh well. They are soft and hold together well, while nearly melting in your mouth. They break apart seamlessly, almost like liquid, but only if you tear them intentionally. Otherwise they stay bound together beautifully. The texture is not lumpy or chunky or anything like that at all. They literally cheesy pancakes. End of story.

I made these for brunch, along with some blueberries and raspberries, as you can see above. Please also note that my earlier statement about not being able to tell the difference between regular gluten free pancakes and cottage cheese pancakes is very much ratified in the above picture. Would you ever guess that was made of cottage cheese?

Two notes on the cooking instructions: Because cottage cheese is a little lumpy, you may want to blend it. I thought about using my family’s magic bullet, but as you know, I prefer to use less in my cooking. So I decided to see how the pancakes would turn out if just mixed all the ingredients longer and vigorously. As you can see they turned out remarkably. The lumps were very small and not noticeable at all after the pancakes were cooked. Also, cottage cheese pancakes do not require much heat after the first one…they cooked in no more than 20-30 seconds on medium low heat after the first one (on medium high). Trust me, do not go higher than medium low. I was shocked at how fast they cooked and almost burned my second one.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 tbsp rice flour
  • 1 eggs

Instructions:

  • Mix eggs and cheese slightly in a small bowl, and then add the flour. Vigorously mix all three ingredients for about 2 minutes.
  • (Optional: Put mixture into a blender or magic bullet and blend until mixture is smooth and there are few lumps. Let batter sit for a minute or two while you prepare a frying pan.)
  • Lightly grease pan and turn stove top heat up to medium high.
  • Pour 2-3 tbsp of batter and flip once steam begins rising from pancake edges. The first one will take slightly longer to cook than the others.
  • For the remaining batter, turn heat down to medium low and cook.
  • Serve warm.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Portabella Cheese Omelette « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Making Cheese: Cottage Cheese

Leave a Reply

