Make Your Own Polenta!

Standard

I love polenta, but the last time I went to the grocery store, they were out. I wondered if I could make it myself. Being the amateur chef I am, I didn’t realize that all I needed was salt, water, and cornmeal! Polenta is great because you can enjoy it as a delicious, warm breakfast, a lunch side, or an appetizer at dinner. I went through a few sites until I had discerned the most common way to prepare polenta. In the end, I chose this website as my guide to making homemade polenta. After looking at about 5 websites, it became clear that you need a 4 parts water to 1 part cornmeal. I modified this recipe, using only 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup of cornmeal, just to try it out. I really only used the website linked above for the instructions, which were also a mutual thing among most of the websites I saw. I will definitely make this polenta as soon as possible, because I am simply dying to try it out.

Another website I stumbled across that I thought was interesting uses the same ingredients, but instructs you how to make microwave polenta! I tried this polenta recipe out first to see if it worked, because I don’t know about you, but I would love to have some delicious polenta in just a couple of minutes as opposed to 30 or so. But I also made this quick recipe first because I was craving a warm breakfast, and something new. I had been anxious to try some homemade polenta, so I did! I must say, I did not use any olive oil (an optional ingredient) and was totally satisfied. I also cooked the polenta for 30 extra seconds. After it was finished cooking, I tried my homemade polenta and LOVED it! I used 1/4 cup cornmeal, so my polenta breakfast was only 110 calories (plus a few extras from some delectable blackberries I had on the side), but it still made a LOT – a sufficient breakfast. Polenta is pretty similar to grits, but I think polenta has more flavor and a better texture – more creamy and thick.

Polenta at its base ingredients (just water, cornmeal, and salt) is delicious and not bland or boring, but about halfway through, I wondered if I could make it better by adding a little cheese, or maybe a splash of milk, as the website suggests. I decided to at least try it, since I was coming to think of this as a polenta experiment. I ended up adding about 2 tablespoons of milk and 1 large handful (I have fairly small hands) of cheese. The polenta was PERFECT. I will add a tiny bit of milk and some cheese every time from now on!

5 responses »

    • Thank you so much for your comments on my blog – I have really appreciated it! I will have to try adding some olive oil to my polenta next time to see how it tastes.

  1. Pingback: If Corn Were an Italian Vegetable… « jovinacooksitalian

  2. Pingback: Marinated Grilled Vegetables & Grilled Green Polenta | recipe 2 recipe

  3. Pingback: Marinated Grilled Vegetables & Grilled Green Polenta « jittery cook

Leave a Reply

