Homemade Pasta

Standard

This recipe was inspired by Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom homemade pasta recipe. I did not have all the ingredients I needed, so I made a couple of modifications. However, Heidi’s recipe is also egg free, and so I want to try her gluten free, egg free pasta recipe as well sometime.

My recipe is an egg pasta recipe. I didn’t think 1 egg was enough, and three was definitely too many, so I decided to try using 2. I stuck with 1 cup of flour–the usual. I thought about reducing the amount of xanthan gum, but the pasta photo on Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom looked so perfect, I decided against it. Note in the ingredients, tapioca flour is the same thing as tapioca starch. This recipe was so fun and enjoyable to make. It started like any other recipe: mixing the ingredients together. I don’t like to use lots of extra equipment or ingredients, but I thought that for a pasta recipe, my hand mixer was necessary. Pasta is a food that needs to be especially well blended and smooth. After the ingredients were mixed, I rolled the pasta dough out. I knew the pasta would need to be thin, so I took this step seriously. Then I cut it. This is the great part about homemade pasta. You can make any kind you want! Cut it into squares for lasagna, or mini squares for ravioli, thin noodles, thick noodles, you name it. I cannot tell you the names of all these pasta types, because I am no expert.

Right when I took my pasta out of the bowl to roll out, I know I had a problem. It was sticky. Way too sticky. I tried adding more flour, but that did nothing. Then I tried adding a little oil. Perfection. Oil is the key. So in the ingredients, the last item I put was simply oil. What I did was put a splash of olive oil in a bowl and used as needed.

This pasta was SO delicious, although quite a pain to make. Because of that second part, I doubt I will make this again, or soon. But the taste and texture were wonderful, and I’m glad I tried this recipe out. I might still try Heidi’s recipe, but I’m not sure.

My Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup tapioca flour (aka starch)
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp water
  • Olive oil

Instructions:

  • Fill a medium pot with about 4 cups of water.
  • Blend flours, xanthan gum, and salt in a small mixing bowl until they are all totally mixed together.
  • Mix egg, oil, and water in a small, separate bowl.
  • Get a hand mixer (on lowest setting) ready and add wet ingredients to the dry ones. Immediately mix ingredients with mixer for a minute until dough forms into a ball. (if dough is too dry or comes apart, add a little water; if it is too wet, add a little rice flour)
  • At this point, turn your stove top on high and bring pot of water to boil.
  • Meanwhile, add a little oil to avoid sticky dough and roll dough out into a very thin, even layer (you can divide the dough into several parts to work with less at one time, also I just used my hands for this, finding it much easier than worrying about a rollling pin). Cut dough into strips of desired width (thin noodles, wide noodles, square noodles for lasagna, etc).
  • Once the water is boiled, add a dash of salt and all the pasta. Stir occasionally until the pasta is al dente, cooking about 2 minutes. Drain and serve with butter, sauce, or other desired toppings.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Make Your Own Polenta! « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Yes, You Can Make Homemade Pasta! « jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

