My Pizza Recipe wasn’t a total failure…

Standard

I have been wanting to try out my own pizza recipe for a while, and tonight I finally did. I used my favorite flours and what seemed like sensible amount. I obviously didn’t think through the process enough because this pizza…well it wasn’t my best recipe. Let’s just say, if I make this again, I will definitely be making some adjustments. Luckily I think I know at least two of the problems. One. It was too thick and starchy. Next time, I will probably only use 1/4 cup tapioca flour. And I will probably lower the amount of cornstarch as well, to 1/4 cup as well, perhaps. Second, I didn’t have enough cheese. If I had had more, I think the pizza would have been better. I can say I know this for a fact because one half of the pizza had more cheese, and I definitely liked that half better. You know what, I did like this pizza with a lot of cheese. So next time, maybe I will just make this thinner and put more cheese on it. Yes…and then just reduce the tapioca flour.

This pizza was not totally a failure, because I liked it some, and I can tell that if a make some simple adjustments it could probably be great. I would not make this recipe the same way again, but I wouldn’t mind too much if I had to. It wasn’t horrible. It just wasn’t great. After this, I might just stick to simpler recipes until I get more acquainted with flour ratios and mixes. In fact, after this episode, I am more confident than ever in my delicious store of wonderful gluten-free pizzas that I have tried and loved. I think I will just stick to those. I have posted the recipe, but just be warned…I haven’t deemed it delicious.

Now, I actually do have some pictures (I found my camera!), but I will not be able to post them until tomorrow, because my camera just died and takes quite a while to charge.

(Actually, the slice of pizza above was almost delicious, because it was from the half with lots of cheese, so I liked it.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3 tbsp sauce
  • About 1 cup cheese of cheese
  • Any additional, desired toppings

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees and generously grease a tin foil-covered baking sheet.
  • Blend all dry ingredients except salt in a medium bowl.
  • Whisk eggs, milk, salt, and oil separately and add to dry ingredients.
  • Mix all ingredients until smooth and well incorporated, and no flour clumps remain.
  • Spoon onto greased pan  and spread out to form about a half-inch crust
  • Bake crust for 15 minutes, then remove and add any desired toppings.
  • Bake an additional 6-7 minutes and then serve (sooner better than later).

SO. I realize this post may be a bit confusing, but if anything, I hope you come away with this: If you use a LOT of cheese, this pizza is pretty good, and almost delicious.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

