Race for the Cure and Cheese “Ribbon” Crackers

Standard

 

Today I ran the 5k Race for the Cure. I am not the fastest runner, but have a consistent 10-11 minute mile. Not the best, but not too shabby, I think. I love running, even though I am not the best, it is simply something I enjoy doing. I ran the Monument 10k last March and had a blast doing that as well. It is such a satisfying and rewarding feeling knowing that I have run the entire way (without stopping), whether the distance is 6.2 miles or a little over 3. Crossing the finish line at a sprint is exhilarating. In honor of breast cancer and this day, I decided to make a recipe that would acknowledge the importance of today.

This recipe idea was inspired by the gluten-free goldfish recipe I have made in the past, by Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom, but this recipe is original. I designed this recipe for cheese straws, but since today was Race for the Cure, I molded most of the dough into ribbons instead. I did make a couple of cheese straws, since that is what I had in mind for this recipe, to make sure they turned out all right, and they were great! I also cut a couple of crackers like in my goldfish recipe. I like my “goldfish” a little puffier, so I usually am closer to a quarter inch thickness, rather than a thickness of say 1/8 or thinner. I think with this recipe, the cheese crackers actually taste better if they are thicker/puffier, but it is totally up to the cook.

 

As you may or may not remember, I have recently added tapioca flour to my pantry and have loved it! I wanted to try making a cracker with that, as opposed to brown rice flour, to see if there is a huge difference. I have also enjoyed experimenting with different flour blends, including tapioca-corn starch blends. I was excited to see how this would turn out as a cracker recipe, and I was not disappointed–the cheese crackers were delicious! However, I must say that my family and I were in mutual agreement that we liked the other ones, the cheese crackers using brown rice flour, better. The brown rice flour “goldfish” were just a little more crisp and had a little more flavor, I thought. This does not mean I did not like this recipe, though, and it would definitely be one that I would love to make again! So I suggest that you try it, and maybe the other recipe, and compare the two. Which do you like better?

This recipe is called Cheese Straws, but honestly, as you have seen above, you can really make any shape or design as long as it’s not too thick (or overly thin). I even made a star one time (when I made the other goldfish another time). So be creative!

Cheese Straws/Cracker Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour (starch)
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 3 tbsp + 1 tsp milk

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees and cover a baking sheet with tin foil, greasing lightly.
  • Mix butter, cornstarch, tapioca flour, xanthan gum, basil, and salt together (mixture should resemble coarse crumbs).
  • Add milk and mix in well.
  • Mix in cheese and stir until all ingredients are well incorporated and evenly distributed, with no flour clumps.
  • On a floured surface, roll out dough to no more than 1/4 inch thickness.
  • Cut dough into thin straws and roll slightly between fingers/with palm.
  • *For ribbons: after you roll the dough slightly between fingers, carefully bend dough so it is in a ribbon shape, and flatten slightly.
  • Bake for about 6-9 minutes on greased baking sheet.
  • Serve warm or save for later.
3 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Pizza Crust Recipe…wasn’t a total failure…maybe « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: My Pizza Recipe wasn’t a total failure…maybe « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Homemade Pasta « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

