My Popovers Worked!

Standard

Today I finally tried out the popover recipe I have created. At least, I hoped it would be a popover recipe. If not, It would just be rolls. I have taken what I have learned from various tips and my own knowledge of food to create it. First: I know that the ingredients work best at room temperature. Done. Second: the batter should be a little runny if I am to be able to pour it into a muffin tin. Okay. Third: most bread/roll recipes include some salt and butter. Check. Last: I need eggs. This was where my true uncertainty began. How many eggs was I to use? I honestly just reasoned out that 1 would not be enough, and 3 seemed like too many, so I decided on 2 eggs, which did end up being sufficient.

I haven’t been making my recipes in huge amounts, so I made my recipe based off of 1 cup of gluten free flour. That meant I would need about 1 cup of milk (so the batter can be poured). I didn’t want to use too much salt, so I just used 1/8 teaspoon. 1 tablespoon of butter seemed like the right amount as well, because any more than that seemed like too much, and any less…I just wasn’t so sure.Anyway, I crossed my fingers and set to work. But of course, once I had my ingredients all set out, I had to figure out how to make my recipe. I preheated my oven to 450, because in the past when I have made other bread products, that was about the temperature I used. I didn’t know how long to cook them for, so I set my timer for 10 minutes, but when I checked them, they clearly needed more time. So I waited another ten. I was surprised by how fast they had started cooking, so I turned down my oven’s temperature to 375 and ended up cooking them for an additional 15 minutes. This recipe makes 8 popovers.

So, the big question is: did my popover recipe work? The answer: yes! The popovers were absolutely delicious and they actually popped! I was more than excited at discovering that my first popover attempt was triumphant. The popovers were beautifully browned on the outside and light, steamy, and soft on the inside. I will not be making any changes or modifications to this recipe, that is for sure!

 

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup rice flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill Brown Rice Flour)
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup milk, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted/cooled

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees and grease 8 regular muffin cups well.
  • Blend flour, cornstarch, xanthan gum, and salt together.
  • Mix eggs and milk together (beat until mixture is light and there are some small bubbles). Stir in butter until the consistency is the same as before.
  • Add wet mixture to dry ingredients and mix until all ingredients are completely combined and there are no flour clumps.
  • Fill muffin cups no more than ¾ full. Bake 15 minutes.
  • Decrease oven temperature to 375 degrees and bake 15-20 additional minutes, until popovers are golden-brown.
  • Remove and serve hot-warm.
5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Race for the Cure and Cheese “Ribbon” Crackers « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Homemade Pasta « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Cottage Cheese Pancakes « deliciousgf

  4. Pingback: Crustless Mini Quiche « deliciousgf

  5. Pingback: Mini Casseroles | deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

