Delicious Cheese Muffins

Standard

Today I was in a cheese mood. I wanted something new for a late breakfast, for brunch. How about a cheese muffin? I have been planning on trying out my new cheese muffin recipe, and today seemed like as good a time as any, so cheese muffins it was. Once I had the idea, I was so excited to make them. That’s the drill with most new recipes, anyway. As soon as I get the idea or decide to make something, I am just ready to go. I love to bake. I would definitely say I am passionate for gluten free cooking!

This was actually a fairly easy recipe to come up with. I got the dry ingredient measurements from my pancakes from scratch recipe (these cheese muffins in NO way taste like pancakes), and from there I used knowledge from similar recipes for the rest. These are cheese muffins, so I used a lot of cheese. If I am going to make gluten free cheese muffins, I want them to be cheesy! The cheese muffins take little time to prepare, and although I thought they would take less time to cook, they aren’t in the oven for too long, so this is a great recipe to whip up for breakfast, or even as a dinner side.

I was in no way disappointed with these delicious cheese muffins! They were so wonderful and cheesy and yummy. They were soft and steamy, and the cheese was all melty on the inside. There was the perfect amount of cheese, I thought. I definitely want to make these again! Everyone liked them, too, and there are still a bunch of left overs. I must add that I was actually out of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and only had shredded colby jack cheese. So, putting two and two together, that the cheese was perfect and I had actually used colby jack, I think next time if I use sharp cheddar, I will try 3/4 of a cup and see how it goes.

This recipe makes 12 normal sized muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 3/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter, melted

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Mix flour, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl and then add cheese, mixing in well.
  • Add melted butter, milk, and egg.
  • Stir until the dry and wet ingredients are well incorporated and no flour clumps remain.
  • Spoon/pour into greased muffin tins. Fill no more than 3/4 full.
  • Place muffins in oven (middle rack) and bake for about 20 minutes.
  • Serve immediately/warm.
4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pancake Popovers « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Race for the Cure and Cheese “Ribbon” Crackers « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Crustless Mini Quiche « deliciousgf

  4. Pingback: Mini Casseroles | deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

