Breakfast Pizza or Quesadilla

Standard

After trying many regular pizzas, I wanted to take things a step further, and another step toward deliciousness. I have always wanted to try breakfast pizza, even when I could eat gluten, but I never have. Why not now? I just wanted a simple version, one without loads of greasy, unhealthy meats. I prefer turkey or chicken (I swear, though, I’m actually not a picky eater). But no matter how hard I looked, I couldn’t seem to find what I was looking for. They were all overly complicated and used so many unnecessary ingredients. I only wanted something simple and easy that I could whip up in the mornings. So what did I do?

I made my own recipe!

Ingredients: (1 makes 2 servings)

  • 2 eggs
  • 3-4 tbsp milk
  • 1 tortilla (I use La Tortilla Factory)
  • 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • Optional toppings: (I use chicken), sausage, bacon, peppers, etc

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Cook eggs slightly with milk so that they are not runny but not fully cooked, either
  • Sprinkle some cheese on uncooked tortilla and ¾ of the chicken/meat, then spread eggs out on top; add rest of the chicken and cheese on top (and any other desired toppings)
  • Put tortilla on a tin foil-covered pan and bake for 10-12 minutes or until eggs are done
  • Remove from oven, cut into slices, and serve warm

Breakfast Quesadilla

The breakfast quesadilla is very similar to breakfast pizza, but just has a few changes and adjustments.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tortillas (or 1 for a half quesadilla)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3-4 tbsp milk
  • 1/2-3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Optional fillings: (I use chicken), sausage, bacon, peppers, mushrooms, etc.

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Whisk eggs lightly together with milk and cook slightly so that they are not too runny but not fully cooked either.
  • Sprinkle half the cheese and chicken/meat on uncooked tortilla, then spread eggs out on top; add rest of the chicken and cheese on top (and any other desired, precooked* fillings)
  • Put tortilla on a tin foil-covered pan and bake for 10-12 minutes or until insides are done and tortilla is crispy on the edges/browning slightly on top.
  • Remove from oven, cut into slices, and serve immediately.
  • *Because tortilla is fairly flimsy and cannot take an excessive amount of weight, precook any fatty meats or fillings so the juices do not ruin the quesadilla.
3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pizza – regular or quesadilla style « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Delicious Cheese Muffins « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Fajita or Quesadilla on the Panini Maker « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

