Croutons? Tortilla Chips?

Standard

Being gluten free can really make me appreciate the little things in the world of food. Like croutons.

Normally, I cut up my GF bread into cubes (and sometimes add just a tiny bit of butter) and toast them in the toaster oven for a few minutes.

Tonight, I had a chicken caesar salad for dinner. I wanted to make some sort of crouton, but it was late, people were hungry, and I was almost out of my GF bread anyway. However, there was one tortilla left in the fridge that would go to waste if it wasn’t used soon. So I thought, what the heck. I tore it into pieces, stuck them in the toaster, and cooked them for a couple of minutes (2-3 minutes on low heat). They quickly browned (slightly, not so much that they had a burnt taste) and were delicious. Being made of delicate tortilla, I of course couldn’t spear them with my fork, but I had no problem scooping them up to enjoy with my now-complete salad.

After doing this, I thought that this would be a quick and easy way to actually make tortilla chips. Just add a little salt and maybe some oil or butter or something (I don’t really know) and voila!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Simple Salad « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Quick and Easy Tortilla Chip Snack « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

