Almost Chex Mix

Standard

Chex mix has never been “my thing.” My family just never bought it and it wasn’t a snack a ever craved. However, upon turning GF, I thought it might make a fun, easy snack idea. Before I go any further, I feel obligated to say that this isn not a fancy, complicated recipe. It does not include seasonings or even baking. It is simply an ametuer mix of food and salt. Nevertheless, I think it is nice to have a readily available snack mix, no matter how simple (I don’t think this is really a bad thing…). Just knowing that you can make something quick and easy like this is reassuring, I think!

The only thing that I do not have a substitute ingredient for is the bagel chip. I hope to look into that more, as it makes a nice crunchy treat on its own. You could probably just find a favorite dough (any sort of bread-type recipe), cut it very thin, and bake it so that it becomes a chip. This is merely an idea…if anyone tries it, I’d love to hear about it!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup rice chex cereal
  • 2 cup corn chex cereal
  • 1 cup pretzels (I use glutino)
  • 1/2 cup mixed nuts
  • 3/4 tsp salt (optional; I won’t add it)

Instructions are to mix all the foods together and sprinkle in salt, mixing until evenly distributed.

Now enjoy the simple deliciousness of almost chex mix!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Get through those midmorning/midday cravings « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

