Regular, Tortilla, or Quesadilla Pizza

Standard

I love pizza. I haven’t had to bother with finding pizza recipes because I’ve lucked out in the frozen section of the grocery store! But, there is just something about making your own food that is so fun and cool and…satisfying. When you’re eating it, you can think, I made this! I love that feeling.

Regular Ol’ Pizza

I have been scoring the internet for easy, yeast-free pizza crust recipes, and I finally found one HERE, at Food.com (my ‘original’ tag does not apply to this recipe, just the others). It’s gotten great reviews, minus one complaint about there not being enough flour and too much salt, but that is easily fixable and all the other 20 reviews said they loved the recipe. So I was siked to try it.

I doubt I will make this recipe again.

I had cut the pizza into 4 quarters. It looked amazing. I was so hungry when it was ready, and I ate one piece which was great. Then a started a second. I got to the crust edge and stopped, because it was starting to taste funky. I took a bite out of a third piece and stopped there. I had taken the advice of one comment from the webpage I got this from and used 3/4 cups of rice flour. Probably my first mistake. I also used a 10-in pizza pan because I lacked the 12-in one called for in the recipe, and I don’t think the pizza cooked completely. Mistake #2. Maybe that was what made my pizza too thick and chewy. Lastly, though I used the amount of spices called for in the recipe, perhaps I should have used a little less…Even though I was probably the cause of my first cooking disaster (well, it wasn’t totally horrible), it just helped me for in the future.

Honestly, I would still recommend that you at least try this. It doesn’t use a large amount of supplies, so if it’s bad, you won’t be wasting much. All I can say is you do not need more flour; the runny batter will turn out great. Also I would try to find the appropriate pan size so the crust isn’t too thick and cooks all the way through.

So let me rephrase my earlier comment: I do want to make this recipe again, because it was ok, and I would love to make it right and have a good pizza recipe up my sleeve. Although I enjoy my tortilla pizza, I would still like to find a thin GF (preferably yeast-free) pizza crust recipe, because like I said, nothing beats something you’ve made yourself from scratch.

Tortilla Pizza

Next, an easy-peasy pizza recipe that I whipped together. I came up with this before I was able to find a yeast-free pizza recipe (and will now revert back to it if I ever feel the need to make my own pizza), and the recipe I created used tortillas. Yes, the crust is simply a tortilla. Like my breakfast pizza/quesadilla, this recipe can be made into a regular, very thin tortilla pizza, or you can go ahead and make it quesadilla style (I particularly love this because it’s different and delicious).

Ingredients: (amounts may vary depending on tortilla size; I use about 12-inch tortillas)

  • 1 tortilla
  • 1/2 cup your choice of shredded cheese
  • 2 tbsp Pizza sauce
  • Additional optional toppings: pepperonis, pepper, mushrooms, etc

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cover tortilla with a thin layer of sauce (within an inch of the edge), and sprinkle/add cheese on top. Add any desired, additional toppings (precook raw meats).
  • Bake for 10-14 minutes (bake 13 or 14 for a crispier, darker crust).
  • Let cool slightly, cut, and serve.

You could also cook your tortilla pizza in a frying pan/skillet, but I have yet to try this myself.

For PIZZA QUESADILLA: Prepare the same way as a tortilla pizza, except you may want to add a little bit more fillings, then top with a second tortilla. To make, lightly grease a frying pan/skillet with olive oil an dpreheat pan over medium high to high heat. Carefully place the quesadilla on the pan and let it cook for a few minutes, until the cheese is melting and a little steam is rising from the edges. Use a spatula to lift the quesadilla, which should be browning slightly. Carefully flip the quesadilla and cook the other side until it has browned and the fillings are melted/cooked.

One last pizza note: if I don’t have time or am simply too lazy, a frozen pizza isn’t horrible. In fact, they can be delicious. My favorites are Glutino’s duo cheese pizza and Amy’s cheese pizza.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Pizza Wrap…my easiest pizza recipe yet « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

