Wow…Mac N’ Cheese

Standard

I know I said spoon bread is my fave, but I had forgotten about mac and cheese. It’s good for anytime, anywhere, anybody (unless you’re allergic to dairy or something, but anyway…). I have found some pretty good frozen mac n’ cheeses, and have loved Annie’s gluten free mac and cheese, but I really wanted to try my own.

So I did.

It took a while to find just the right recipe, but when I finally did, I could not wait to make it! I made this with a friend and we had a blast. I think it was very helpful to have two people preparing this dish because there are a lot of steps going on at once, but I’m sure it could be done just as well solo. We didn’t want to cook the mac and cheese in the oven when it was time, because the cheese sauce alone was so good, and we kept sneeking bites. But once it was in, we were excited. My friend is not gluten free, but she wasn’t hesitant or reluctant at all to try a gluten free recipe. When we took our first bites, we both just looked at each other and thought Oh my gosh, because it was amazing! My sister walked in, saw the dish, grabbed a fork, took a bite, and sat down, asking to be served. Ten minutes later, my whole family was with us, eating our mac n’ cheese! Talk about satisfaction and a job well done!

I owe this incredible dish to musings of a housewife, a great gluten free blog I have discovered and love. This definitely one of my top favorite recipes; it is beyond delicious. I loved mac and cheese before, but I don’t think I’ve ever had any as delectible as this blog’s mac and cheese. The only change I made to the recipe was using brown rice flour instead of all-purpose flour.

I highly recommend doubling this recipe, because it will disappear in a flash. I know I will definitely do this next time (don’t forget to use a bigger casserole dish as well). The only disappointment I faced with this recipe was when I realized I would have no leftovers for lunch or dinner the next day, but that’s the life of an amateur chef!

Leave a Reply

