Baked Cheese Grits

Standard

Naturally gluten free, I have wanted to make some good, homemade, real cheese grits for a while. As in mix a ton with cheese and bake it in the oven. That is what I call delicious. Grits are good, but add cheese and they’re great. Especially baked. And this morning I wasn’t very hungry, so I didn’t mind waiting an hour or so, but I did want something new and yummy: baked cheese grits.

Although this recipe takes a while, it is very easy and straightforward. I enjoy everything about it: the texture, taste, appearance, smell. I honestly thought about naming this blog something having to do with cheese, because it is actually my ultimate favorite food, and so many of my recipes use it.

I wish I could say this was an original recipe, but it is not. I got it from myrecipes.com. BUT, I do know that in the past, at some point, my family has made our own homemade cheese grits. I just have not been able to uncover it. But, after trying this recipe, I’m not in as big a hurry to discover another.

I will say this: if you have a big saucepan, use it. I could only find a medium-sized one, and while it worked perfectly and just fine, the milk just took a long time to boil. But other than that, I had no qualms whatsoever! So check out these yummy gluten free baked cheese grits at the link above.

One last note: this recipe says to serve immediately, but I found that if you wait 15 minutes or so, it sets much better, is still warm, and has a much better texture.

Leave a Reply

