Cheese Rolls or Pizza…2 in 1!

Standard

Okay, I know I said I wanted to try the failed pizza crust again, to try and make it work better, but that was before I found a recipe today at Gluten Free Gobsmacked for Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de quejo). As soon as I read it I could not wait to try it out! The thing that really caught my eye was the fact that the recipe could be used to make cheese rolls (yum) AND pizza (double yum). I wanted to try out both recipes SO badly, because they just sounded so delicious, but I wanted to try the pizza crust first; I made it for dinner tonight. I hope to use this recipe again soon, and make it into the cheese rolls instead. Rolls and pizza…two delicious, common, and great recipes to have on hand, especially when they’re the same one! I just love that.

Anyway, this pizza was out of this world amazing. It is definitely one I will make again. It almost makes me want  to discard my other pizza crust recipe entirely, but I am still determined to get it right. However, after this delicious feat, I am in no hurry whatsoever to do so. The cheese crust was fantastic, and I didn’t need to add much cheese as a topping because of the fact that the crust contains so much already. The crust was soft in the middle and a little crunchy on the outside–perfect! Amongst the huge array of spices I possess, I was fresh out of chives and dill, so I just used 1/2 tablespoon of dried basil leaves, which I think I will do anyways from now on because it worked great. This pizza crust recipe receives 5 stars from me…I hope the cheese rolls are just as good, and cannot wait to try them out!

This is my first experience using tapioca flour, and I was not disappointed. It was great. I don’t know exactly what the difference is between it and the brown rice flour I usually use, but the crust was, as I’ve said, amazing. Tapioca flour is supposed to be a slightly sweet flour, but I guess when people say slightly, they really mean it, because I did not catch any hints of sweetness. The crust was totally satisfactory.

Ingredients:

  • 1+1/4 cups tapioca flour
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I used about 1+1/2 cups for pizza crust)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) melted butter
  • 2 tsp dill + 2 tsp dried chives (or 1/2 tbsp basil leaves)
  • *pizza sauce
  • *more cheese for pizza topping (I just used the rest of the 2 cups of shredded cheese plus a tiny bit of mozzarella)
  • *any additional pizza toppings (I love mushrooms and/or pepperonis on my pizza, but I had neither, so I just used cheese, which was still amazing)

Instructions:

  • Preheat your oven to 450F.
  • Mix together all ingredients in your mixer well (I  used a hand mixer with no problems–just make sure all ingredients are totally combined).
  • *Form into balls (about 1 1/2 inches or 2 inches) and slightly flatten.
  • Place on tin foil on a baking sheet.
  • Bake for 8 – 10 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Serve warm.

*PIZZA OPTION: Form the crust by rolling the dough out on parchment paper (I use tin foil which worked just fine) into a 12-inch circle. Then prebake the crust alone for about 15 minutes at 450 degrees. Add sauce and toppings (don’t use too much cheese because there is already a lot in the crust) and cook an additional 10 minutes or until toppings are done. Cut and serve warm

NOTE: I refrigerated the left over pizza and microwaved it for lunch the next day, and it was great. I don’t know how long it will keep, but at least a day!

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Flourless Pizza (by gluten free easily) « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Pizza – regular or quesadilla style « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Brazilian Cheese Rolls « deliciousgf

  4. Pingback: Pizza Panini or Sandwich « deliciousgf

  5. Pingback: Pamela’s Pizza Crust « deliciousgf

  6. Pingback: Pizza Wrap…my easiest pizza recipe yet « deliciousgf

  7. Pingback: Race for the Cure and Cheese “Ribbon” Crackers « deliciousgf

  8. Pingback: My Pizza Crust Recipe…wasn’t a total failure…maybe « deliciousgf

  9. Pingback: My Pizza Recipe wasn’t a total failure…maybe « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

