Crepes: Fast, Easy, Delicious

Standard

I honestly did not know what crepes were until a couple weeks ago, when I came across a GF recipe under that name. Curious, I checked it out. I loved the idea, but the recipe was quite complicated for such a simple food. So, I began a new quest, hunting for a simple crepe recipe.

I found the perfect crepe recipe here, at Gluten Free Gobsmacked. It made about 10 medium crepes. You could also try this using rice flour instead of cornstarch, but I don’t think it really matters. The cornstarch was fabulous! This was great yesterday morning because I was in a hurry and wanted to make something quick. I remembered my newly acquired crepe recipe and was itching to try it out. It was delicious! It is a simple and cheap breakfast item that you can make over and over again.

When I made these, I used a medium pan, not a small one that the recipe calls for. So I needed to use about 3-5 tablespoons per crepe. I still got about 10 crepes out of the batter. As for the filling, I just went for a simple route and used shredded cheese. Another note to add: being the featherbrained girl I am, when I made this recipe, I got confused (though I didn’t realize it at the time) and did not put the pan back on the stove top after I had swirled the batter. I thought that I was supposed to keep it off, and I honestly just realized it a few seconds ag when I typed this. The life of an ametuer chef. Well, the crepes still turned out amazing and delicious, even with my blunder!

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil or melted butter
  • pinch of salt

Instructions (this is the original recipe based off using a small pan):

  • Mix all ingredients with whisk until very well blended.
  • Spritz a small, nonstick pan with olive oil. Preheat the pan over medium-high heat.
  • Pour 2 Tablespoons of batter into the pan while swirling the pan.
  • Continue to swirl the pan – OFF the heat! – until the batter begins to bubble and there is no longer excess batter to swirl.
  • Cook for 20-40 seconds (the first crepe takes the longest… this time is for the quicker crepes) or until steam is puffing out the sides.
  • Quickly and with some care, flip the crepe and cook and additional 15-20 seconds.
  • Continue until all the batter is used. (Depending upon your pan, you may not have to spritz it with oil between crepes – I did this every three crepes.)
  • Serve with a wide variety of fillings: fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and ham, cream cheese, raspberry sauces, ham, turkey, avocado, sour cream, etc.

 

I hope to make these again soon! Maybe I will try to save some of the batter next time, by putting tin foil or something over the bowl and putting it in the fridge. Hmm…

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Rice Flour Crepes « deliciousgf

  2. Pingback: Pancake Crepes…NOT Scrambled Eggs « deliciousgf

  3. Pingback: Scrambled Pancakes « deliciousgf

  4. Pingback: Mini Quiche – Crustless or with a Crepe Crust « deliciousgf

Leave a Reply

